Annual Book Awards

Publishers who have nominated books in recent years include Continuum, Dunedin, Open University, Palgrave Macmillan, Routledge, Sage, Trentham, Bloomsbury, Manchester University Press, Emerald Publishing and Wiley Blackwell.

SES Book Award

In 2019, it was agreed that the SES National Book Awards would replace the current SES books prize.

Recommendations for books to receive the Award will be drawn from the following sources:

  • Positive reviews of books in the BJES;
  • nominations by SES members and trustees;
  • books put forward by publishers.

Commendations will be given for the following four types of book:

  • Type A:  research quality, cutting edge research;
  • Type B:  collaboration in a team, interdisciplinary, inter-institutional or international;
  • Type C:  significance for public understanding, policy, practice or teaching;
  • Type D:  new researchers – normally their first book, with evidence of potential for leading the next generation of research.

A maximum of four books per year (one for each type) will be awarded and announced at the Fellows Dinner / AGM.

The books must meet the following criteria:

  • At least one author must be based in the UK at the time of the Award, with at least one author being affiliated to a UK educational institution;
  • the book must be published within the last two years (by copyright date);
  • titles must be relevant to the broad area of educational studies.

Award winners do not have to be members of SES.  Members of the SES Executive are eligible for the Award as an author but will not receive the pecuniary reward.  If a Trustee’s book is nominated, they will not take part in the discussions deciding the Award winners.

Books will be judged, by the SES Executive, on their own merits, taking into account the following:

  • Quality of research and/or scholarship;
  • Originality of analysis and argument;
  • Theory/practice relation;
  • Quality and accessibility of writing.

Authors of books who receive an Award will receive a prize of £1,000 (lead author will decide how to share the prize if book is co-written) and a certificate. Books that receive the Award will be added to the SES website as a news story and maybe announced in trade press.

Previous winners:

There were no Awards made in 2020.

The 2019 SES Book Award was made to Gary McCulloch and Steven Cowan for A Social History of Educational Studies and Research (Routledge, 2018). The title was reviewed by Dr. Liam Gearon in volume 67, issue 2 of the British Journal of Educational Studies. The review can be accessed here.





We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.