National Awards

National Award

The 2024 National ward theme and call information will appear here in due course.


Previous National Awards 2022: 

The Transformative Work of Teachers

The Society for Educational Studies has awarded the University of Glasgow the National Award for 2022.

The Society has granted the 2022 National Award to Sarah Anderson (PI), Mary Lappin, and James Conroy of the University of Glasgow. The project is a multi-case analysis exploring the nature of judgements regarding initial teacher education (ITE) students’ performance per normed teaching standards. The project focuses on the transformative work of teachers in three key ways: how classroom-based mentor teachers judge students’ performance, who institutions rely on to judge teaching effectiveness, and how ITEs use concomitant judgements of teaching effectiveness amongst a context of power dynamics. The project involves partnership of three ITE programmes: University of Glasgow, Scotland, Aberystwyth University, Wales, and Leeds Beckett University, England. The project seeks to enable more accurate judgements to positively affect teacher capacities, to reimagine the value and professional career trajectory of the ‘teacher academic’ as a reorientated role, and investigate impacting power dynamics amongst schools, local authorities, and ITEs.

Previous recipients of the National Award have included:

  • 2015: NP3: New Purposes, New Practices, New Pedagogy, Prof. Peter Twining and colleagues, Open University.


  • 2013: Race, Racism, & Education: inequality, resilience and reform in policy & practice, Prof. David Gillborn, Dr. Nicola Rollock, Dr. Paul Warmington, Sean Demack, University of Birmingham.

  • 2011: The Social Organisation Of Educational Studies: Past, Present and Future, Professor Gary McCulloch, Professor Gemma Moss and Dr. James Thomas of the Institute of Education, University of London.

We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.