About the Society

The Aims of the Society

The aims of the Society are to discuss and promote study and research in Education by:

Ensuring the quality and status of research and scholarship in Educational Studies

Encouraging debate and discussion especially on educational policy issues

Acting as a public voice for Educational Studies especially in responding to critical attacks on the quality and integrity of the field

Recognising distinction in the field of Educational Studies by the award of ‘Fellow of the Society for Educational Studies’ - FSES

Sponsoring the world class publication - the British Journal of Educational Studies as a vehicle to promote the above aims

Fellows of the Society


Aidan Thompson

University of Birmingham



Honorary Treasurer

Prof. Gaynor Attwood

University of West of England



More on our Fellows


Professor James Arthur OBE

Professor Gaynor Attwood

Dr Helen Hanna

Dr Tom Harrison

Professor Gary McCulloch

Professor Andrew Peterson

Dr Mike Waring



Professor James Arthur OBE

We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.